Friday, May 2, 2014

Where Do Vegans Buy Their Food in Decatur - Part 2

When I first became a vegan, I had a bowl of Reece’s Puffs every day.  It was loaded with fat and sugar, but it was vegan!  After learning more about nutrition from attending Decatur Vegetarian Club meetings, I chose more natural cereals such as Barbara’s Multigrain Spoonfuls from Kroger.  Vegans have a “never eat” list and commonly increase their “try not to eat list” adding foods such as palm oil, processed foods, too much sugar, salt and oil. 

Another product besides sugar that has a mentally addictive quality for people is cheese, and many people are vegetarian instead of vegan because of this one food item. (Another reason is they probably want to eat donuts and cinnamon rolls that are brought into the office.)  I used to think I could not live without cheese, but now it seems more like Silly Putty than food to me.  Tastes do change, although sometimes it takes awhile!  I really enjoy non-dairy Daiya cheese in both mozzarella and cheddar which are available at Fairview Kroger and Country Nutrition.  

Note to readers:  “Go Veggie!” Cheese in the green wrapper is not vegan!  It has casein, milk and cream.  It is at all stores in our area in the health food section and fools many people who are trying to eat vegan.  Apparently, lactose free is not always dairy free!

Children of vegan parents are not to be pitied on Halloween.  Their goodie bag is not filled with apples!  Many Clif Bars and Larabars are vegan (read labels), and Skittles, Nerds, Smarties, most lollipops, Sour Patch Kids, Dots, Mike & Ike, Sour Punch Straws, and Swedish Fish are vegan.  My son prefers Swedish Fish over chocolate! 

Speaking of chocolate, there is a particular brand of chocolate I find irresistible:  Ghiradelli Semi-Sweet Chocolate Chips!  It melts well and can be used in cakes, on soy ice cream, and in cookies, as well as just tossing in the mouth – all with no milk products!  See if you prefer it over the chocolate chips that have added milk.  It is sold at most stores.

What breads do vegans use?  Some make their own breads, but I take the easy route and read labels at the store.  Some of the French or Italian breads are vegan in the bakery department.  When reading labels, be on the look out for whey, casein, eggs or butter, animal products often found in bread.  I like Private Selection rye bread from Kroger or the 12 grain bread from Alde’s. 

To identify many other vegan foods you may already have in your pantry, search online for a site called “Accidentally Vegan.”  It lists brands that you may be eating that already are vegan. 

With all these tempting treats available, it is simply a matter of choosing to select the non-animal brands when you shop.  Anyone can make these changes!

No comments:

Post a Comment